Starbucks lovers everywhere rejoiced at the return of the Pumpkin Spice Latte.
Except, apparently, for vegans.
“No no, they make mine with soy,” you vegans might be thinking. But as Brent Caldwell of Ferndale, Michigan discovered, the latte mix itself contains dairy.
“There is currently no vegan option for this drink mix, which is a total bummer,” Caldwell said in his petition to Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz on Change.org. “The mix contains condensed milk. Employees don’t even realize it has milk in it!”
Starbucks confirmed to Consumerist that the Pumpkin Spice Latte mix does contain condensed milk. But they offered an alternative for vegans desperate for that taste of fall: Starbucks VIA Pumpkin Spice flavored instant coffee brewed with soy milk.
Is that a fair compromise? “Nothing about ‘pumpkin’ or ‘spice’ has to come from an animal,” Caldwell says. So far, more than 2,500 petitioners agree.