Home
 
Choose Your City
Change City

Whitecaps schedule released

The Vancouver Whitecaps will play its first game at B.C. Place againstrivals Portland Timbers during an inaugural Major Soccer League seasonfull of exciting dates.


The Vancouver Whitecaps will play its first game at B.C. Place against
rivals Portland Timbers during an inaugural Major Soccer League season
full of exciting dates.

The MLS released their 2011 schedule Thursday and Whitecaps CEO Paul Barber is thrilled the highly anticipated first game at B.C. Place is against a historic rival.

“We
were always hoping to have a Northwest team to help open B.C. Place,”
said Barber, who promised matches against Seattle and Portland would
all be hotly contested derbies.

The Seattle Sounders will be
in town for a piece of history as well, as they face-off against the
Caps for the last MLS game at Empire Field Sept. 24.

All three
teams have strong supporter groups who revel in the regional rivalry,
so the atmosphere inside B.C. Place will likely be dialed to the
proverbial Spinal Tap-inspired “11”.

Yet, those aren’t the dates Barber is looking forward to the most.

The
former Tottenham Hotspur executive has his sights set firmly on March
19, when the team officially rings in the MLS era with the previously
announced match at Empire Field against Toronto FC.

“We’ve been working towards this game for a long time,” Barber said. “The countdown has really begun now.”

Other
anticipated home matches include the return of David Beckham Sat., July
30 and French legend Thierry Henry’s first game in Vancouver May 28
when the New York Red Bulls roll into town.

Aside from the
Timbers match, there will be two more regular season games at B.C.
Place: Oct. 12 against D.C. United and the season finale Oct. 22
against the Colorado Rapids.



Full 2011 Whitecaps MLS Schedule:

*Sat., March 19 – 3:30 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Toronto FC
Empire Field

Sat., March 26 – 1 p.m.
Philadelphia vs. Vancouver
PPL Park

*Sat., April 2 – 4 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Kansas City
Empire Field

*Wed., April 6 – 7 p.m.
Vancouver vs. New England
Empire Field


Sun., April 10 - 4 p.m.
Houston vs. Vancouver
Robertson Stadium

*Sat., April 16 – 4 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Chivas USA
Empire Field

*Sat., April 23 – 4 p.m.
Vancouver vs. FC Dallas
Empire Field


Sat., May 7 – 5:30 p.m.
Chicago vs. Vancouver
Toyota Park

*Wed., May 11 – 7 p.m.
Vancouver vs. San Jose
Empire Field

Sat., May 14 – 4:30 p.m.
New England vs. Vancouver
Gillette Stadium

*Sat., May 28 – 4 p.m.
Vancouver vs. New York
Empire Field


Wed., June 1 – 7:30 p.m.
Chivas USA vs. Vancouver
Home Depot Center

Sat., June 4 – 6 p.m.
Real Salt Lake vs. Vancouver
Rio Tinto Stadium

Sat., June 11 – 7 p.m.
Seattle vs. Vancouver
Qwest Field

*Sat., June 18 – 4 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Philadelphia
Empire Field

Sat., June 25 – 5:30 p.m.
Kansas City vs. Vancouver
Sporting Park

Wed., June 29 – 4:30 p.m.
Toronto FC vs. Vancouver
BMO Field

*Wed., July 6 – 7 p.m.

Vancouver vs. Columbus
Empire Field

Sat., July 9 – 6 p.m.
Colorado vs. Vancouver
Dick’s Sporting Goods Park

*Sat., July 16 – 1 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Real Salt Lake
Empire Field

Wed., July 20 – 7 p.m.
San Jose vs. Vancouver
Buck Shaw Stadium

*Sat., July 30 – 4:30 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Los Angeles
Empire Field

*Sun., Aug. 7 – 4:30 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Chicago
Empire Field

Sat., Aug. 13 – 4:30 p.m.
D.C. United vs. Vancouver
RFK Stadium

Sat., Aug. 20 – 7 p.m.
Portland vs. Vancouver
PGE Park

*Sat., Aug. 27 – 4 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Houston
Empire Field

Sat. Sept. 10 – 4:30 p.m.
New York vs. Vancouver
Red Bull Arena

Sat., Sept. 17 – 7:30 p.m.
Los Angeles vs. Vancouver
Home Depot Center

*Sat., Sept. 24 – 4:30 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Seattle
Empire Field

*Sun., Oct. 2 – 1:30 p.m.
Vancouver vs. Portland
BC Place

*Wed., Oct. 12 – 7 p.m.
Vancouver vs. D.C. United
BC Place

Sat., Oct. 15 – 5:30 p.m.
FC Dallas vs. Vancouver
Pizza Hut Park


*Sat., Oct. 22 – 4 p.m.

Vancouver vs. Colorado
BC Place

* Home game
All times PT


 
Consider AlsoFurther Articles