Home
 
Choose Your City
Change City

Doomsday Clock moves 30 seconds closer to midnight

Stephen Hawking is a member of the Board of Sponsors.
The announcement will be made on Jan. 26 at 9 a.m. CT/10 a.m. ET/1500 GMT.2017 Doomsday Clock Announcement Facebook event

UPDATE: The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists "has decided to move the minute hand of the Doomsday Clock 30 seconds closer to catastrophe. It is now two minutes and 30 seconds to midnight." You can read their full statement here.

It’s three minutes to midnight. Is “doomsday” upon us?

The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists will host a live international news conference at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday to announce how close to “midnight” the world is.

Relations between the United States and Russia, North Korea’s ambitions, the Iran nuclear deal and the uncertainty of climate change solutions are factors the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists’ Science and Security Board will consider when deciding if the minute hand of the “Doomsday Clock” should advance.

RELATED: Trump, climate change deniers face resistance from alt-EPA, Parks Twitter accounts

The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists’ Science and Security Board in consultation with the Board of Sponsors, which includes 15 Nobel Laureates, makes the decision.

The clock’s minute hand did not move in 2016, but it is still the closest the clock has been to midnight since the beginnings of above-ground hydrogen bomb testing, according to the group. The time was five minutes before midnight in 2015.

To watch the live stream, click here.

For a brief history of the Doomsday Clock, enjoy the video below.

 

Consider AlsoFurther Articles