Distracted driving: 40 percent of Mass. motorists text and drive
A survey released Tuesday shows that nearly 40 percent of Massachusetts motorists send texts while driving.
Car insurance carrier Plymouth Rock Assurance polled 500 Bay State drivers, and found that despite warnings about distracted driving, 25 percent of motorists say they will not change their mobile device habits.
It’s not all bad news; 96 percent of respondents said they wouldn’t text while driving with a child in the car.
The findings were released the same day State Police announced a month-long campaign, “Text With One Hand, Ticket In The Other,” which will allow officers to better enforce the Massachusetts Safe Driving Law in the month of June.
The law, which went into effect September 2010, bans the sending, typing or reading of electronic messages on a handheld devices while driving and prevents all cell phone use for teen drivers under the age of 18.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gave the state a $275,000 federal grant to fund the crackdown.