Bedford’s Trevor Chow hopes to win rare double crown - Metro US

Bedford’s Trevor Chow hopes to win rare double crown

Trevor Chow is hoping to pull off a rare double.

The Bedford resident enters the Nova Scotia Golf Association’s men’s amateur championship starting tomorrow having already won last month’s mid-amateur crown.

If he can pull off another victory on Saturday at the Osprey Ridge Golf Club in Bridgewater, he will be the first to achieve the double crown in more than a decade. Legendary Gerry MacMillan of Paragon was the last to do so in 1998.

“Gerry has won the most provincial amateur titles in history with seven and he’s definitely going to go down as one of the best golfers this province has even seen,” said Chow, who had never won a provincial title at any level prior to this summer’s triumph. “It would be a great thrill to win both.”

One thing’s for sure: There will be a new champion this year. Defending titleholder David Williamson of Ashburn has moved on to the professional ranks on the Canadian Tour, leaving the door wide open for the likes of Chow, four-time champion Leon Carter of Dundee, back-to-back runner-up Sean Hurley of Hartlen Point and a slew of other contenders.

The 32-year-old Chow said he glanced at the list of past NSGA champions recently and knows it won’t be easy to add another title to his resumé.

“When you look at the great players in Nova Scotia and look at their records over their careers, you see how difficult it is to win just one,” Chow said. “There are really good players who only have two or three in their careers.”

Chow, who grew up in Baddeck and plays out of Ashburn and Bell Bay, checked out the Osprey course on Sunday and said there’s a high “risk-reward” factor with it, but he’s hoping to stay “inside the tree line” and rely on his short game.

“I feel pretty confident,” he said. “I didn’t feel confident this whole spring, but playing well at the mid-amateur gave me confidence. Hopefully I can keep it going this week.”

Past amateur champions
• 2008 — David Williamson, Ashburn
• 2007 — Leon Carter, Dundee
• 2006 — Peter Campbell, Bell Bay
• 2005 — Paul Batchelor, Ashburn
• 2004 — Leon Carter, Dundee
• 2003 — Russ Passmore, Osprey Ridge

More from our Sister Sites