'Curb Your Enthusiasm' season 9 started shooting the day Trump won, here's why he won’t be mentioned - Metro US

‘Curb Your Enthusiasm’ season 9 started shooting the day Trump won, here’s why he won’t be mentioned

Larry David in Curb Your Enthusiasm
[Photo: HBO]

Millions of Americans struggled into work the day after the 2016 presidential election. They had to not only come face to face with the people that had voted for Donald Trump instead of Hillary Clinton, but also try to comprehend exactly how the former host of “The Apprentice,” who many assumed had no actual chance of winning, was now the President Of The United States.

Larry David, Jeff Garlin, Susie Essman and the rest of the cast and crew of Curb Your Enthusiasm were in the exact same boat, as production on season 9 started on Wednesday, November 9, 2016, the day after Trump’s victory was announced. On Wednesday night I had the chance to speak to Larry David at the premiere of Curb Your Enthusiasm season 9, and I quizzed him about the mood on set on that fateful morning.

“The day after the election,” David responded when I asked him what day they’d started shooting Curb Your Enthusiasm season 9. However, the Seinfeld co-creator insisted that even though the cast and crew were shocked by Trump’s success, they quickly had to get over it because they had a job to do.  

“It wasn’t quite what we had anticipated. But, what are you going to do? The cameras are rolling and you’ve got to act,” he shared.

Considering the fact that Curb Your Enthusiasm’s dialogue is entirely improvised by its esteemed cast, there was always a chance that Trump would pop up in conversation. But when I asked David whether any of the upcoming episodes actually include any references to the Current Commander In Chief, he insisted that they don’t.

“No, no, no. We don’t really deal with too many political things. That’s not really what the show does,” he assured me.

You can remind yourself of what Curb Your Enthusiasm does best when season 9 debuts on HBO on Sunday October 1 at 10 p.m. EST.


More from our Sister Sites