Eight classic books with lesser-known sequels - Metro US

Eight classic books with lesser-known sequels


With Harper’s Lee’s “Go Set a Watchman” hitting shelves on July 14, you might wonder what other classics in American literature have also had their stories continued. From childhood favorites to canonical works, we’ve rounded up the sequels of eight of the most popular reads of the last two centuries.

“Son of Rosemary” by Ira Levin

Sequel to: “Rosemary’s Baby” by Ira Levin

Year published: 1997

After 26 years in a coma caused by the Castevet’s Satanic coven, Rosemary awakens to find that her son Adrian is now an adult trying to do good in the world, despite his evil origins. The reunion turns sinister when she learns that Adrian might not be able to help who he is and the human race could actually be doomed.

“The Starlight Barking” by Dodie Smith

Sequel to: “The Hundred and One Dalmatians” by Dodie Smith

Year published: 1967

This sequel puts a sci-fi spin on the classic tale of an English couple and their one hundred and one Dalmatians. When every human on Earth suddenly falls into a deep sleep, Dalmatians Pongo and Missus, along with the Prime Minister’s dog Cadpig and dogs across London, must gather to discuss what to do. They are soon joined by an extraterrestrial dog who attempts to help by giving them an otherworldly option.

“Closing Time” by Joseph Heller

Sequel to: “Catch-22” by Joseph Heller

Year published: 1995

Fifty years after “Catch-22”, “Closing Time” finds protagonist Yossarian as an older man at the end of his life in Manhattan. Readers can expect another stint in the hospital, Yossarian now working for Milo Minderbinder, Chaplain Tappman making an appearance, underground tunnels and the consistent theme of death in the characters’ dialogues.

“Life at Plumfield with Jo’s Boys, or Little Men” by Louisa May Alcott

Sequel to: “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott

Year published: 1871

Set after the ending of “Little Women,” “Little Men” follows second eldest sister Jo and her husband Friedrich Bhaer running a school, mostly attended by young boys, at the Plumfield estate, left to Jo by her Aunt March. We’re introduced to Plumfield’s students, among them orphans, street youth, Jo’s sons Rob and Teddy and members of the Bhaer family, and follow their interactions with each other and the world over the course of six months.

“That Was Then, This is Now” by S.E. Hinton

Sequel to: “The Outsiders” by S.E. Hinton

Year published: 1971

Continuity is ever present in S.E. Hilton’s books, with this unofficial sequel to “The Outsiders” also taking place in Tulsa, Oklahoma and featuring characters from the first book. Brothers Bryon and Mark begin to feel a strain in their relationship when they must come up with money for their mother’s medical bills in addition to dealing with girlfriends and local gangs.

“Gathering Blue”; “Messenger”; “Son” by Lois Lowry

Sequels to: “The Giver” by Lois Lowry

Years published: 2000; 2004; 2012

Lois Lowry’s middle school classic is actually the first of a quartet. Each follows a character, all of whom are loosely connected to “The Giver”’s Jonas, living in villages in the same dystopian world from the first book. While all possess unique abilities, from embroidery to mind reading, it is ultimately their interacting with each other throughout the series that encourages a mass move to a safer community, as Jonas did at the end of “The Giver.”

“Death Comes to Pemberley” by P.D. James

Sequel to: “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen

Year published: 2011

Although not written by Jane Austen, this murder-mystery follow-up was widely enjoyed and positively praised upon its release, particularly by the New York Times. Taking place six years after “Pride and Prejudice,” on the night of an annual ball, a family member of the Darcy’s and the Bingley’s is killed on the Pemberley grounds. The group must now find out who among the friends and family present did it and why.

“Small Steps” by Louis Sachar

Sequel to: “Holes” by Louis Sachar

Year published: 2006

This sequel follows the post-Camp Greenlake adventure of Theodore “Armpit” Johnson as he tries to turn his life around following a scam gone wrong with fellow Tent D mate, Rex “X-Ray” Washburn. In between evading the ringleaders of the scam and trying to clear his name, Armpit must also deal with his romantic feelings for an up-and-coming pop star and the true intentions of her greedy manager.

Follow Asia Ewart on Twitter @asiaewart

More from our Sister Sites