3 Book picks for art lovers

Art lovers rejoice: three new books are coming out that you won't be able to resist.

Art books are having a moment. We're not talking about those pricey coffee-table books that people display but never read. These are books that are full of drama and scandal. After checking out these surprising facts about Mona Lisa, curl up with one of these new releases.

 

 

"The Curse of Van Gogh" by Paul Hoppe

 

Fans of "Oceans 11" and "The Da Vinci Code" will devour this new release. Credit: Provided Fans of "Oceans 11" and "The Da Vinci Code" will devour this new release.
Credit: Provided

 

If you love a good art heist story, you'll devour this thriller, which came out July 29, the 124th anniversary of artist Vincent Van Gough's death. Hoppe tells the tale of a art thief who just got released from prison, but old habits die hard and he falls back into his wicked ways after bartending at New York City art event. Author Paul Hoppe's background is as a Hollywood screenwriting and he really packs a lot of action into his first novel.

"The Objects Of Her Affection" by Sonya Cobb

"The Objects of Her Affection" is about an unlikely woman caught in the middle of an art heist. Credit: Provided "The Objects of Her Affection" is about an unlikely woman caught in the middle of an art heist.
Credit: Provided

Another good art heist novel is "The Objects of her Affection," out this month. It's about a woman named Sophie whose husband works as a curator for the Philadelphia Museum of Art. When her family starts struggling financially, she finds herself doing something no one would ever expect her of doing: stealing a pricey antique.

"Madame Picasso" by Anne Girard

In real life, Madame Picasso was Picasso's life-long muse. This book tells the imagined story of her life. Credit: Provided In real life, Madame Picasso was Picasso's life-long muse. This book tells the imagined story of her life.
Credit: Provided

Out at the end of the month (August 26), this novel imagines a torrid love affair between Pablo Picasso and a small-town girl named Eva who moves to Paris wanting to escape her boring life back home. She lands herself a job at Moulin Rouge repairing costumes for the sultry dancers, and it is here she meets the at the time, up-and-coming artist. Of course Picasso wasn't a one-woman man type of guy, so expect lots of drama along with steamy love scenes.In real life, Madame Picasso was Picasso's life-long muse. This book tells the imagined story of her life.

Follow Emily on Twitter: @EmLaurence

 
Latest From ...
Most Popular From ...