When the MBTA announced that there could be some serious service cuts and steep fare increases coming down the chute by summertime, people started speaking up.

A lot.

Amid announcements that ferries could get docked and no longer transport commuters to and from the city and that bus lines in almost every suburb surrounding Boston might go the way of T tokens, organizers have been preparing themselves for the upcoming public hearings scheduled by the MBTA.

On Wednesday, residents of Hull and Hingham will head over to the “Save the Ferry” meeting to take a stand on why they need the services so bad, according to a Patriot Ledger report.

 

Meanwhile, a local Emerson College student has been bringing together coeds to get them up to speed on potential cuts so they can stay informed and see how the proposals may affect their local college or university.

Whether it’s the possible elimination of a bus route, the Green Line E train, or a ferry, here is the list of all the public meetings coming up where you can figure out what the impact might be on your community if the T acts in the spring and votes on one of the two proposals to close their $161 million budget gap.

MBTA PUBLIC MEETING SCHEDULE:

Jan. 17, Tuesday---Newton

5:30-7:30 PM

Newton City Hall

1000 Commonwealth Avenue

Jan. 17, Tuesday ---Worcester

6:00-8:00 PM

Public Library, Saxe Room

3 Salem Square

Jan. 18, Wednesday---Chelsea

6:00-8:00 PM

Public Library, Auditorium

569 Broadway

Jan. 19, Thursday---Boston (Roxbury)

6:00-8:00 PM

Roxbury Community College, Auditorium

1234 Columbus Avenue

Jan. 23, Monday---Boston

1:00-3:00 PM and 4:30-6:30 PM

Transportation Building, Floor 2 Conference Rooms 2, 3

10 Park Plaza

Jan. 24, Tuesday---Attleboro

4:30-6:30 PM

Attleboro High School

100 Rathbun Willard Drive

Jan. 25, Wednesday---Salem

6:00-8:00 PM

City Hall Annex, 3rd Floor Conference Room

120 Washington Street

Jan. 31, Tuesday---Boston (Mattapan)

6:00-8:00 PM

Mildred Avenue Community Center

5 Mildred Ave.

Feb. 1, Wednesday---Jamaica Plain

6:00-8:00 PM

Hennigan Community Center, Cafeteria

200 Heath St.

Feb. 2, Thursday---Boston (Dorchester)

1:00-3:00 PM and 6:00-8:00 PM

Dorchester House Multi-Service Center

1353 Dorchester Avenue

Feb. 6, Monday---Lowell

5:00-7:00 PM

City Hall Council Chambers

375 Merrimack Street

Feb. 7, Tuesday---Lynn

6:00-8:00 PM

City Council Chambers

3 City Hall Square

Feb. 8, Wednesday---Boston (West End)

4:30-6:30 PM

Shriners Hospital Auditorium

51 Blossom Street

Feb. 8, Wednesday---Hingham

6:00-8:00 PM

Town Hall Central Meeting Room

210 Central Street

Feb. 13, Monday---Boston (South Station area)

6:00-8:00 PM

Boston Public Library Boston Room

700 Boylston Street

Feb. 14, Tuesday---Framingham

6:00-8:00 PM

Town Hall

150 Concord Street

Feb. 15, Wednesday---Quincy

6:00-8:00 PM

Thomas Crane Public Library Community Room

40 Washington Street

Feb. 16, Thursday---Malden

6:00-8:00 PM

City Council Chambers

200 Pleasant Street

Feb. 28, Tuesday---Somerville

6:00-8:00 PM

High School Auditorium

81 Highland Avenue

Feb. 29, Wednesday ---Cambridge

6:00-8:00 PM

Citywide Senior Center

806 Massachusetts Avenue

March 1, Thursday---Waltham

6:00-8:00 PM

Government Center Auditorium

119 School Street

March 6, Tuesday---Brockton

6:00-8:00 PM

Massasoit Community College, Liberal Arts Building, Lecture Hall LA 560

1 Massasoit Boulevard

Loading...
Latest From ...