Today is the first day to sign up for medical marijuana in New Jersey
The state's health department is now accepting online applications. Patients must be approved by a registered physician.
Today is the first day New Jersey residents can begin signing up for the state's medical marijuana program.
The program is available to those with one of a dozen debilitating medical conditions, including multiple sclerosis, terminal cancer and Glaucoma, and have been authorized by a doctor registered with the program.
Patients need to submit a photo, proof of residency and government-issued identification, along with a registration number from their physician. The registration fee is $200 and is valid for two years, while those on public assistance will pay $20.
The state's first legal dispensary will is growing its first crop and expected to open sometime in September.
New Jersey, which approved the law in 2010, is among 17 states and the District of Columbia to dispense medical marijuana.
More information about the program and the application can be found here.