The Halifax Pop Explosion announced 20 confirmed acts in its 2010 lineup yesterday.

The impressive lineup includes critically acclaimed The Hold Steady, Canadian indie legends The New Pornographers, and Halifax born-and-bred act Sloan. Executive director Jonny Stevens said more bands will be announced in the coming days — hinting that the as-yet unannounced Saturday show is not to be missed.

The music and culture festival, taking place from Oct. 19 to 23, is in its 17th year. It won its first ECMA award this year, taking home the Event of the Year honors.

Rock out
Sloan among local talent on hand at popular music festival.

Local talent Local bands will also be making Pop Explosion appearances this year, including North of America, Old Man Luedecke, Bad Vibrations, Jon McKiel, Wordburgler, and Sloan.

Latest From ...