Halifax Regional Council has approved members of its Design Review Committee.

The committee will be responsible for reviewing development applications for downtown Halifax and will consist of professionals in architecture, landscape architecture, urban design, and structural engineering as well as three citizens at large who require no professional experience.

“The tremendous response to this call for volunteers underscores the community’s commitment to our downtown,” said Mayor Peter Kelly in a release. “The specialized knowledge and experience of this committees’ members will benefit the heart of HRM through their work on future downtown development.


The HRM membership selection committee - chaired by Kelly - made the final recommendations for the first sitting members of the newly established committee.

The elected members are: William Hyde (architect), Terry Smith-Lamothe (architect), Ramzi Kawar (architect), Anne Sinclair (architect), Sue Sirrs (landscape architect), Angela Dean (landscape architect), Nick Pryce (city planner), Roy McBride (structural engineer), Cesar Saleh (professional at large), Alan Parish (citizen at large), and Jeff Pinhey (citizen at large).

Most Popular From ...