Premier Darrell Dexter named eight of his NDP MLAs as ministerial assistants yesterday.

Halifax Chebucto MLA Howard Epstein will be working with the Department of Community Service, specifically on co-operative housing and other housing programs, while Halifax Citadel-Sable Island MLA Leonard Preyra is working for the Office of Immigration.

The other MLAs selected by Dexter were Jim Boudreau of Guysborough-Sheet Harbour (fisheries and aquaculture), Gary Burrill of Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley MLA (house leader), Vicki Conrad of Queens (transportation and infrastructure renewal), Gary Ramey of Lunenburg West (health), Brian Skabar of Cumberland North (aboriginal affairs) and Lenore Zann of Truro-Bible Hill (tourism, culture and heritage).


Ministerial assistants do not receive additional pay and it’s not a full-time position, a government release said.

Also yesterday, Dexter announced Kevin McNamara, CEO of the South Shore District Health Authority, as acting deputy minister for the Department of Health.

Most Popular From ...