The NHL’s leading goal scorers, Washington’s Alex Ovechkin, Buffalo’s Thomas Vanek and Philadelphia’s Jeff Carter, headed a list of 15 players named as reserves to the Eastern Conference all-star team for the game to be played on Jan. 25 in Montreal.

Ovechkin, Vanek and Carter were all tied for the league-lead in goals with 27 entering Thursday’s action. They will be joined up front by Tampa Bay’s Vincent Lecavalier, Carolina’s Eric Staal (third appearance), Boston’s Marc Savard, New Jersey’s Zach Parise, Ottawa’s Dany Heatley and Atlanta’s Ilya Kovalchuk.

As voted by fans, Pittsburgh’s Sidney Crosby, his teammate Evgeni Malkin, and Montreal’s Alex Kovalev will be the three starting forwards.

Most Popular From ...