Provincial Liberal leader David Swann has shuffled his shadow cabinet around to ensure an even division of critic responsibilities between Calgary, Edmonton and rural Alberta.

“We want to form government, so one of my jobs as Leader is to ensure that my MLAs develop a wide range of experience and skills,” said Swann in a press release.

Laurie Blakeman is deputy leader, house leader and critic of the environment, culture and community spirit files; Harry Chase now has whip, education, advanced education and technology, children and youth services, tourism, parks and recreation; Kent Hehr now has justice and attorney general, solicitor general and public security and sustainable resource development.

Darshan Kang will deal with infrastructure, transportation and Service Alberta; Hugh MacDonald was assigned finance and enterprise, treasury board, and employment and immigration; Bridget Pastoor is now on agriculture and rural development, seniors and community supports, international and intergovernmental relations; Kevin Taft now has health and wellness, aboriginal affairs; and, finally, Dave Taylor has energy, housing and urban affairs, and municipal affairs.

Most Popular From ...