torstar news service


Douglas Coupland

The 2006 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury has announced a list of 15 authors and their books that will be considered for one of Canada’s most prestigious literary prizes.

“The selection of this year’s books is a revelation,” the jury said in a written statement. ”Our country and its writers, who not only populate every region but also demonstrate their differing sensibilities, help us to understand ourselves and give us clarity and hope.”

The jury is composed of former governor general Adrienne Clarkson and authors Alice Munro and Michael Winter.

The shortlist for this year’s Giller will be announced at an Oct. 3 news conference at the Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto. This is the first time such a long list has been announced in advance.

The finalists will be honoured and a winner announced at a gala black tie dinner and awards ceremony Nov. 7.

The list of all 15 authors and their books:

  • David Adams Richards for his novel The Friends Of Meager Fortune, published by Doubleday Canada.

  • Caroline Adderson for her novel Pleased to Meet You, Thomas Allen Publishers.

  • Todd Babiak for his novel The Garneau Block, McClelland & Stewart.

  • Randy Boyagoda for his novel Governor of the Northern Province, Penguin Canada.

  • Douglas Coupland for his novel jPod, Random House Canada.

  • Alan Cumyn for his novel The Famished Lover, Goose Lane Editions.

  • Rawi Hage for his novel De Niro’s Game, House of Anansi Press.

  • Kenneth J, Harvey for his novel Inside, Random House Canada.

  • Wayne Johnston for his novel The Custodian of Paradise, Knopf Canada.

  • Vincent Lam for his collection of short stories Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures, Doubleday Canada.

  • Annette Lapointe for her novel Stolen, Anvil Press.

  • Pascale Quiviger for her novel The Perfect Circle, Cormorant Books.

  • Gaetan Soucy for his novel The Immaculate Conception, House of Anansi Press.

  • Russell Wangersky for his short story collection The Hour of Bad Decisions, Coteau Books.

  • Carol Windley for her short story collection Home Schooling, Cormorant Books.

The Giller Prize was established in 1994 by businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, who died of cancer in April 1993.

It started at $25,000 but with the sponsorship of Scotiabank has been boosted to $50,000, with $40,000 going to the winner.