Credit: Reuters

Each year the Nobel Prize is awarded to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society in the categories of Literature, Physics, Medicine or Physiology, Chemistry, Economics and Peace.

The Nobel Peace Prize is given to an extraordinary individual who has made great contributions to benefit mankind and was founded by Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel. Before his passing in 1896, he laid out the criteria for the Nobel Peace Prize recipient in his will. According to Nobel, the Peace Prize is given to an individual or individuals who “shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Each year the Nobel Peace Prize award ceremony is held in Oslo, Norway and is announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee and the Nobel Prize ceremonies for Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature and Economics Sciences are held in Stockholm, Sweden. 

The Nobel Prize ceremonies kicked off Monday beginning with the announcement of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and other ceremonies are held throughout the week to announce winners from the other categories. On Friday, the Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded live from Oslo Norway by Berit Reiss-Andersen, Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

So far, seven Americans have been awarded Nobel Prizes this year, three of whom took home a Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and Physics. Biophysicist Joachim Frank and physicist Rainer Weiss, two of the Nobel Prize winners, are German-born Americans.

Below is a list of the 2017 Nobel Prize Winners. The list will be updated with new information as winners are announced.


2017 Nobel Prize Winners List

Nobel Prize winners in Physiology or Medicine 2017  

Jeffrey C. Hall (American)

Michael Rosbash (American)

Michael W. Young (American)

The winners were announced on Monday, October 2 by Thomas Perlmann, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine.


Nobel Prize winners in Physics 2017 

Rainer Weiss (German-born American)

Barry C. Barish (American)

Kip S. Thorne (Amercian)

The winners were announced on Tuesday, October 3 by Göran K. Hansson, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.


Nobel Prize winners in Chemistry 2017 

Jacques Dubochet (Swiss)

Joachim Frank (German-born American)

The winners were announced on Wednesday by Göran K. Hansson, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.


Nobel Prize in Literature 2017

Kazuo Ishiguro (Japan-born Brit) 


Nobel Peace Prize 2017

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons 

Nobel Prize in Economics 2017

Richard H. Thaler

2017 Nobel Peace Prize live stream

The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced Friday at 11 a.m. Central European Time. The live stream will become available when the ceremony begins.

Most Popular From ...