Overshadowed by Coun. Peter Ladner’s victory yesterday over Mayor Sam Sullivan seven park-board hopefuls also vied for four slots on the Non-Partisan Association (NPA) ticket.


Incumbent commissioner Ian Robertson as well as two past commissioners, Laura McDiarmid and Christopher Richardson, were nominated along with Sharon Urton, a community organizer.
Keith Roy, Naresh Shukla and Wai Sin were not nominated.


NPA nominations for city council and school board were done by acclamation and were not part of yesterday’s voting.


For council, incumbent councillors Suzanne Anton, Elizabeth Ball and Kim Capri are joined by parks commissioner Korina Houghton and architect Michael Geller.


On school board, trustees Ken Denike, Carol Gibson and Clarence Hansen are up for re-election, joined by Sophia Woo, a mental health clinician.

A second nomination meeting will be held in September to fill out the slate.