Saint Mary’s University and Dalhousie University have announced their recipients of honorary degrees for their respective convocation ceremonies this spring.

Six people will receive degrees from Saint Mary’s on May 21 during convocation ceremonies at the Halifax Metro Centre.

They are are Paul Dyer, regional vice-president of Scotiatrust; Dr. Mike Durland, co-CEO of Scotia Capital; CN president Claude Mongeau; publisher Neville Gilfoy; pioneering psychologist Patricia Rowe; and arts and humanities advocate Sandra Irving.

At Dalhousie, eight individuals will receive honorary degrees during convocation ceremonies from May 25 to June 2 at the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium.

They are children’s author Budge Wilson; scientist Sir John Houghton; Murray Koffler, the man behind Shoppers Drug Mart; Nancy Gosling, president and CEO of Gosling Brothers Ltd.; Randolph Hester Jr., professor at the University of California; Richard Currie, former president of Loblaw; Justice Thomas Cromwell, the first Dalhousie law professor named to the Supreme Court of Canada; and Sir Paul Nurse, a geneticist and co-winner of the 2001 Nobel Prize in medicine.

Latest From ...