Simon Fraser University, which has handed out honorary degrees to such Canadian legends as Rick Hansen, Lt. Gen. Romeo Dallaire and David Suzuki, has narrowed down its 2009 candidate list to 10 recipients.

Those recognized have been chosen for their accomplishments and contributions across all fields of work, including conservation, human rights, writing and medical science.

Among those chosen is teacher, writer and river conservationist Mark Angelo. In his career, he has founded and spent the last 30 years chairing B.C. Rivers Day as well as World Rivers Day. He has written more than 250 articles and editorials on preserving Canada’s waterways. His work has earned him an Order of British Columbia and an Order of Canada.

Internationally recognized jurist Louise Arbour was the chief prosecutor for the 1990s tribunals on the Rwandan genocide and the human-rights abuses in Yugoslavia. Formerly a Canadian Supreme Court justice and United Nations human rights high commissioner, Arbour is being recognized for her extensive contributions in these fields.

Former lawyer and Socred cabinet minister Rafe Mair will also be receiving an honorary degree. Now a writer, outspoken broadcast personality and political commentator, his popularity has seen a steadfast growth in the past few years. Although he has deep political roots, his editorials often focus on sports and his personal life.

James McEwen, biomedical engineer and former adjunct professor at SFU’s School of Engineering Science, is being recognized for his work in the medical field. McEwen is the inventor of a revolutionary microprocessor-controlled automatic tourniquet system, which is used for more than 15,000 surgical procedures every day in nearly every major hospital in the world.

Richard Henriquez is a renowned Vancouver architect. Notably, he is the creative mind behind the new Woodward’s redevelopment in the Downtown Eastside. The building will be the future home to SFU’s School for Contemporary Arts. His firm is known as a leader in North American social housing design.

The ceremonies will be held June 3-5.

More candidates

• Other recipients include Robin Blaser, Stewart Blusson, Victor Gomel, Djavad Mowafaghian and John Willinsky.

Latest From ...