The United States is accusing China, Russia and seven other countries of failing to protect American producers of movies, computer software and other copyrighted material from widespread piracy.


The U.S. Friday placed the nine countries on a “priority watch list” that will subject them to extra scrutiny and could eventually lead to economic sanctions.


The other seven countries targeted were Argentina, Chile, India, Israel, Pakistan, Thailand and Venezuela.


Egypt, Lebanon, Turkey and Ukraine were taken off the “priority” list and placed on the lower-level watch list.