Video judge sent home after phantom goal call
The International Ice Hockey Federation has dismissed a video goaljudge after a botched call in Finland’s 3-2 win over the U.S. lastnight at the world hockey championship.
The International Ice Hockey Federation has dismissed a video goal judge after a botched call in Finland’s 3-2 win over the U.S. last night at the world hockey championship.
Ville Koistinen’s one-timer on a 5-on-3 just 2:12 into the third period at the Metro Centre went through the mesh on the side of the net, but the goal stood after video review.
The IIHF acknowledged the goal “should not have counted” on its website after the game, and stated that the goal judge will “not be working for the rest of the tournament.”
The goal turned the game around for Finland, as it rebounded from a 2-0 deficit in the third period to remain unbeaten.
Everyone involved, on both sides, was baffled.
“The guy upstairs, I’m not sure who it is, but he’s got some major problems with his eyes,” said American head coach John Tortorella. “He needs to see a doctor.”
Added Team Finland head coach Doug Shedden: “You guys saw it, you know it didn’t go in, but we’ll take it.”