Seven candidates line up for Dartmouth byelection - Metro US

Seven candidates line up for Dartmouth byelection

A Dartmouth byelection is set to be one of the most contested municipal races in recent memory.

As nominations closed Tuesday, seven candidates had put their names forward to replace Andrew Younger in District 6 (East Dartmouth The Lakes). Younger made the jump to the provincial politics in June.

In last fall’s municipal election, the only district to have seven candidates running was Connaught-Quinpool, which Sheila Fougere left vacant in her failed run for mayor. In contrast, Younger was not opposed for District 6.

Running in the Sept. 19 byelection are Robin Allen, Phil Brown, Shane Dafoe, Tracey Devereaux, Darren Fisher, John McMillan and Brian Warshick.

Former mayoral candidate David Boyd contacted Metro last week saying he would be putting his name on the ballot, but when nominations closed he wasn’t registered.

Voters will also be able to vote online and via telephone. Online voting kicks off Sept.12 and runs 24 hours for one full week until the polls close.

Council has approved a total budget of $85,000 for the byelection. Advance polls take place Saturday, Sept. 12 and Tuesday, Sept. 15.

More from our Sister Sites