Choose Your City
Change City

A season-defining win for Harvard?

If anyone was deserving of some consolation, it was Harvard.

If anyone was deserving of some consolation, it was Harvard.

There has been little of it for the Crimson this season, entering last night’s consolation game in the Beanpot tournament with just four victories in its first 23 games.

And with just over four minutes left against 14th-ranked Boston University, it appeared a third straight fourth-place Beanpot finish was about to be added to Harvard’s miserable 2011 résumé.

But in a tournament that can sometimes define a season, the Crimson found their moment, scoring twice in the final four minutes to pull a stunning 5-4 upset that may have torpedoed the Terriers’ NCAA tournament hopes.

“I thought that was an embarrassing display by my team,” BU coach Jack Parker said. “It’s a loss that’s going to come back to haunt us later on, I believe. As far as the NCAA tournament selection process, this was a huge loss for us.”

After Danny Biega tied the score at 4-4 with 4:03 left, senior forward Michael Del Mauro completed the improbable comeback by ramming home a rebound with 2:08 left for the game-winner, handing BU (14-9-7) its first fourth-place Beanpot finish since 1980 and just its fourth in the 59-year history of the tournament.

“I thought our guys battled hard,” Havard coach Ted Donato said. “We stayed with it. We wanted to use this game as an opportunity to do the things we need to do to have some success.”

Last victories

The last time each school had won the Beanpot going into last night’s championship game:

» Boston College: 2010
The Eagles entered this year’s tournament as the defending champions.
» Boston University: 2009
The Terriers and Eagles alternated titles for four seasons.
» Harvard: 1993
The Crimson was the last non-BU or BC team to win.
» Northeastern: 1988
The Huskies carried the longest winless streak.

Consider AlsoFurther Articles