Jimmie Johnson won an unprecedented fourth consecutive Sprint Cup points championship yesterday.

Johnson came into the final race of the NASCAR season at Homestead-Miami Speedway with a commanding lead in the championship and finished the race in fifth.

With the win, Johnson became the first NASCAR driver to win four consecutive championships and is one of only four drivers to win more than three titles.


Denny Hamlin, who finished ahead of Jeff Burton by a wide margin, won the 400-mile race. Kevin Harvick finished third. Johnson’s teammate and runner-up in the series, Mark Martin, finished 12th. Jeff Gordon finished third in the standings.

Johnson’s team, Hendrick Motor Sports, tied Petty Enterprises with nine organizational championships in NASCAR’s senior stock car series.

Latest From ...