Choose Your City
Change City

Metro’s 2010 MLB awards

The Giant hoisted the Commissioner’s Trophy late Monday night, officially ending the 2010 Major League Baseball season. That means it’s time for awards.

NL Cy Young: Philly’s ‘Doc’
Josh Johnson and Adam Wainwright posted better ERAs than Roy Halladay’s 2.44, but neither came within 20 IP of matching his old-timey 2502/3. The 219 Ks are just icing on the cake.

AL?Cy Young: ‘King Felix’
Felix Hernandez only won 13 games for the lowly Mariners. Lucky for him, W/L is
meaningless for pitchers. Hernandez’ 2.27 ERA, 232 Ks and 2492/3 IP push him past CC Sabathia and Clay Buchholz, with room to spare.

NL MVP: ‘Votto-matic’
This will be the first of many MVPs for Joey Votto. Cincinnati’s young stud posted a .324 BA, a .424 OBP and a 1.024 OPS while slugging 37 HRs and driving in 113 runs. Albert Pujols, your torch is passed.

AL?MVP: ‘Hambone’
We’re tempted to penalize Josh Hamilton for playing in just 133 games, but the only other real option here — Miguel Cabrera — registered just 30 more ABs. A .359 BA, .411 OBP and 1.044 OPS are enough to win, don’t you think?

Rookies of the Year: Jason Heyward, Austin Jackson
It’s hard to question the credentials of either of these guys.

Heyward was a sensation for the Braves early on, even if he trailed off a bit later in the season. Still, his 18 HRs and .393 OBP are fantastic for a rookie.?Meanwhile, no full-time AL rookie got on base more than the Tigers’ Jackson (.345).

Consider AlsoFurther Articles