U of A announces new research chairs - Metro US

U of A announces new research chairs

Top international researchers are now calling Edmonton home as recipients of the new Canada Excellence Research Chairs were announced at the University of Alberta yesterday.

Recipients who are new to the University of Alberta are Dr. Michael Houghton in Virology, Dr. Graham Pearson in Arctic Resources, Dr. Patrik Rorsman in Diabetes, and Dr. Thomas Thundat in Oil Sands Molecular Engineering.

“Today’s announcement is the result of a vision that our government set out in 2007,” said Rona Ambrose, minister of Public Works and Government Services, and minister for Status of Women.

“The same year that the strategy was launched, we recognized that Canada and Alberta needed to attract, train and keep more of its talents at home, creating jobs for Canadians.”

Following arduous competition, 19 chairs were awarded across Canada.

“I’m very grateful to have been selected as one of the researchers and would like to thank to Canadian government very much for your innovative program,” Dr. Houghton said.

“And it is a great pleasure to have been awarded this prestigious chair.”

More from our Sister Sites