NBL of Canada has its starting seven – Metro US

NBL of Canada has its starting seven

The seven cities that will house teams in the National Basketball League of Canada have been finalized.

Moncton, N.B., and Summerside, P.E.I., were announced Thursday as the sixth and seventh NBL Canada franchises that will begin play with a 36-game schedule in early November.

They join expansion franchises in Oshawa, Ont., and London, Ont., and three founding teams: The Halifax Rainmen, Saint John Mill Rats and Quebec Kebs.

Interim league president Andre Levingston said there is no chance of additional teams for the inaugural campaign.

“Not this year, we’re done,” Levingston said, adding that the seven-team circuit is now ready to move forward with its tryout combine and draft on Aug. 20 and 21 in Toronto. “Everything is a go.”

Levingston has wanted a professional basketball franchise in Moncton for years, dating back to his days as director of Canadian business development for the Premier Basketball League.

“Moncton is a city I’ve had my eye on for a long, long time now,” he said.

Moncton’s owner is Steven Conville, who initially targeted Kingston, Ont., for a franchise but turned his focus to Moncton after that fell through.