Reyna, Meola lead new eligibles for US Soccer Hall - Metro US

Reyna, Meola lead new eligibles for US Soccer Hall

CHICAGO – Former national team captain Claudio Reyna and goalkeeper Tony Meola are among 12 first-time eligible players for the U.S. Soccer Hall of Fame.

The U.S. Soccer Federation said Tuesday other newly eligible players are: Jose Burciaga Jr., Ronald Cerritos, Lorrie Fair, Jen Lalor-Nielsen, Ronnie O’Brien, Ante Razov, David Regis, Thori Staples Bryan, Greg Vanney and Kerry Zavagnin.

Holdovers on the 31-player ballot include Mike Burns, Peter Nowak, Carlos Valderrama and Peter Vermes, all in their final year of regular eligibility.

Players must appear on at least two-third of the regular ballots to gain election. Voters include Hall of Famers, administrators and media.

The veterans ballot includes George Best, Teofilo Cubillas, Shep Messing and Glenn Myernick. The top player on the veterans ballot needs 50 per cent for election.

U.S. soccer no longer has a building for its hall. The one in Oneonta, N.Y., closed two years ago.

More from our Sister Sites