Who won in NYC's 2015 elections? - Metro US

Who won in NYC’s 2015 elections?

Bess Adler/Metro

Election officials reported low turnout in the handful of races across the city on Tuesday as New Yorkers voted to fill city council and state legislature seats.

Democrat and former city councilman Michael McMahon defeated former Manhattan prosecutor Joan Illuzzi in Tuesday’s election, becoming the first Democratic district attorney in Staten Island in 11 years.

Unofficial results from the city Board of Elections show 38,500 residents across the borough voted in the race. Recent state records show Staten Island has 263,197 active voters.

RELATED: New Yorkers have until Friday to register for November elections

McMahon replaced former D.A. Dan Donovan, who was voted into Congress in May.

Supreme Court Justice and Democrat candidate Darcel Clark took over the seat vacated by outgoing longtime Bronx D.A. Robert Johnson. Clark defeated Republican attorney Robert Siano.

Some 32,900 Bronx residents turned out to the polls, early election results showed. There are 639,833 active voters in the borough.

About 47,500 Queensites —of the borough’s 1,030,897 active registered voters — voted for District Attorney Richard Brown’s uncontested bid for a seventh term.

RELATED: NY’s BOE deals with pair of glitches, looks ahead to future elections

Republican state Assemblyman Joseph Borelli also won his race for Staten Island’s 51st city council district unchallenged.

Former state Assemblyman Barry Grodenchik, a Democrat, overcame Republican Joseph Concannon, a retired NYPD captain, to fill in a seat vacated by former Councilman Mark Weprin in Queens for the 23rd district. Weprin left office for the Gov. Andrew Cuomo administration earlier this year.

Democrat Assemblywoman Roxanne Persaud will switch over to the senate next year, taking over the seat vacated by embattled former Sen. John Sampson. Persaud defeated candidates from the republican and conservative parties vying for the Brooklyn district.

In Queens, Alicia Hyndman, a democrat, will represent the 29th Assembly district after defeating GOP candidate Scherie Murray. The seat was formerly represented by Democrat William Scarborough, who pleaded to corruption charges.

South Brooklynites in 46th Assembly district elected Democrat Pamela Harris, who defeated Republican Lucretia Regina-Potter to replace outgoing lawmaker Alec Brook-Krasny.

More from our Sister Sites