Boston election 2015 results are in - Metro US

Boston election 2015 results are in


IncumbentCity Councilors Charles Yancey and Stephen Murphy were upset by challengers in Tuesday’s municipal election.

Political newcomer Andrea Campbell beat longstanding Councilor Yancey 61-38, or 4,309 votes to 2,699, in the District 4 race. The district includes parts of Jamaica Plain, Dorchester, Mattapan and Roslindale.

Annissa Essaibi-George earned one of four at-large city council positions, besting Murphy by capturing 17.86 percent of the vote to the incumbent’s 14.89 percent. At-large council positions represent the entire city. There were five candidates for four at-large seats.

RELATED: Boston City Council gave itself $12,000 raise

As expected, turnout for the election was low. The Boston Election Department reported 50,807, or 13.63 percent of registered Boston voters casting ballots throughout the day.

Incumbents Frank Baker (District 3), Timothy McCarthy (District 5) and Tito Jackson (District 7) each held off challengers to keep their city council seats.

Running unopposed were incumbents Salvatore Lamattina (District 1), Bill Linehan (District 2), Matt O’Malley (District 6), Josh Zakim (District 8) and Mark Ciommo (District 9). They were all re-elected.

In all, 53 Massachusetts cities and towns took to the polls on Tuesday.​

More from our Sister Sites