Facebook celebrates Harry Potter’s 20th anniversary with magic – Metro US

Facebook celebrates Harry Potter’s 20th anniversary with magic

Facebook celebrates Harry Potter’s 20th anniversary with magic

Facebook is celebrating the “Harry Potter” 20th anniversary with a little magic when you update your status. 

Today marks the 20th anniversary of the “Harry Potter” franchise, written by author J.K. Rowling. The first book, “Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone” (later renamed to The Sorcerer’s Stone) was released on June 26, 1997. We’re sure this makes you feel old.

To celebrate Harry Potter’s 20th anniversary, Facebook added a few treats for Harry Potter fans when they update their statuses using Harry Potter-related phrases.

How to activate hidden spells for Harry Potter’s 20th Anniversary

Whenever someone posts a status containing “Harry Potter” or “Gryffindor,” the words will turn red. Use “Slytherin,” and it will turn green. If you type “Hufflepuff, “it will turn yellow, and “Ravenclaw” will turn blue.

That’s not all.

Tap on one of the Harry Potter-related words and something special will happen. A magic wand will appear and sparks will fly on your screen. Unfortunately, there are many Harry Potter phrases that are missing, but it’s still nice to see Facebook acknowledge the birthday of the Harry Potter franchise for millions of fans.

Twitter has also set up something fun for Harry Potter fans to share. Whenever you use the hashtag “#HarryPotter20” a little emoji appears next to it to honor its 20th birthday.

Harry Potter Book List

If you’re looking add some magic to your summer reading list to celebrate Harry Potter’s 20th anniversary, look no further. Here’s a list of all seven titles from the Harry Potter book series for you to catch up on. 

Book 1: “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” (“Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” in the United States)

Book 2: “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets”

Book 3: “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban”

Book 4: “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire”

Book 5: “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix”

Book 6: “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”

Book 7: “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”